August 2014 Stitch Fix Review


PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. Some of my posts contain links to Amazon.com.

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review

You’re going to have to forgive me this month. My husband has been working 7 days a week and super long days, so I wasn’t able to get a video done before I sent back the clothes I wasn’t keeping. I also lost the price sheet so I can’t post prices this month. I think I confused it with an old one and threw it away. The summer heat makes me really darned addle-brained. And on top of that, we’re getting ready to leave for a 10 day trip to Seattle and Canada, so between that and being home alone with the kids, I’m not firing on all cylinders if you know what I mean.

But we DID manage to take some pictures. My husband is my trusty camera man for these fix reviews, and luckily we managed to squeeze in a quick photo shoot.

If  you’ve read reviews from past months, you’ll see a couple items from previous fixes. I’m wearing the necklace from this fix and the skirt from this one. My Stitch Fix pieces get a lot of mileage. I seriously wear them all the time. I’m a little nervous to wash some of them, so I’ll keep you posted on how they do when that happens.

Here’s how Stitchfix works:

1. You fill out a Style Profile. My style is somewhere in between “Classic” and “Edgy” with a little “Glamorous” thrown in. You tell your stylist about your lifestyle (I asked for tops with easy access for breastfeeding, ie loose and flowy or button up/zip up), your likes and dislikes (I said NO to fur or fake fur!) what kinds of things you’d like to see in your fix and give them your measurements. You can also tell them what price point you’re interested in. I am only looking for a few upscale pieces, so I went a little higher than I normally would with my preferred price point. I also told them I wanted to stretch my style boundaries a little. I think part of the fun is trying on things I wouldn’t normally buy! I also put together a Pinterest board for them to look at, and it’s obvious from the items they picked for me that they looked at it and listened to my preferences.

2. You pick a day to get your fix. You can schedule just one, or you can subscribe to monthly fixes. The styling fee is $20.00 and will be credited toward the cost of any pieces you decide to keep.

3. You receive your fix. There are 5 items in it. You try on the items, decide which you want to keep and pay for those and put the rest into their handy dandy prepaid mailer and send them back within 3 days.

Here is my August 2014 Stitch Fix Review:

 Brentwood Jersey Stripe Tiered Top by Pomelo

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review

 My stylist included this shirt because I pinned it and specifically requested it. It was on my style card in a previous fix and I really wanted to try it on. I was surprised by the colors since I envisioned it being red and black and it was actually sort of a raspberry/navy combo. I thought it was really cool and different, and it was fitted without being too tight. I really really wanted to keep it honestly, but sadly had to return it since it wasn’t my #1 this time.  If it had been red/black I probably would have kept it though. Status: Returned (with regret)

Callafia Short Sleeve Wrap Dress by 41Hawthorn

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review

 I think this dress was my least favorite piece in this fix. Can you tell from my face? Ha ha, I can’t hide my feelings. The color is pretty, but it’s not “my season” if you know what I mean. I wear really bright, dramatic colors and this was a little too close to being pastel. It made my hips look HUGE too. And maybe I wrapped it wrong (it’s a true wrap dress) but the neckline was too low. Not daring low, like HEY LOOK AT MY BRA low. I wore a camisole under it to fix that, but I wouldn’t want to do that every time.  I’m sure it would be really adorable on a different person, but it just didn’t fit me right. Status: Returned

Ronald Striped Maxi Dress by Renee C

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review 

I really thought this dress would be the winner. I love maxis and I love black and white stripes. But it just didn’t flatter me. I felt very straight up and down in it, and the waist elastic was really tight. Status: Returned

Astra Sleeveless Maxi Dress by Gilli

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review 

I loved this dress. It looked really elegant for a knit maxi dress and I thought it was really flattering. I loved the color and really struggled between this and another piece when I was deciding what to keep, but I finally sent it back since it would be impossible to breast feed in, so I couldn’t wear it very often. Status: Returned (with regret)

Eames Gathered Waist Short Sleeve Shirt by Tart

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review

 I would have never guessed I’d like this shirt. I hate the peplum style, and when I saw a picture of it I thought Really? Peplum? No. But as it turns out, it’s not like a peplum shirt at all. It gave me a great shape, and when I styled it the way it was styled on my card with a pencil skirt and dressy heels, I fell in love. I’m going to take this whole outfit on vacation since the pieces are so versatile and they won’t wrinkle. This shirt would be really cute with jeans and a cardigan too and I’m pretty sure I’ll wear it to death. Status: KEPT

So there you have it! That’s my August Stitch Fix. I had a lot of fun writing it up and I’d love to know what you got in yours too. If you have a review, leave a comment so I can go read it!

Click here to try out Stitchfix now!

August 2014 Stitch Fix Review

Disclosure: There are referral links in this post. I don’t get paid to review my Stitch Fix boxes, but I do get credit from referring people. You can too, when you sign up for your fix you’ll get a referral link you can share with your friends.

 

This post can also be seen at the Whimsicle Stitch Fix Link Party

About Kelley

Hi! I'm Kelley. Real foodie and crunchy mom to a teenager and a toddler. My husband and I live in Southern California.

Comments

  1. You look amazing, Kelley! I love the maxi’s and the top on you. Your new top with the skirt is totally you and so classy – now you need your hubby to take you somewhere so you can wear it 🙂 I was cracking up at your face in the pastel blue dress before I read your comment about not hiding your feelings about it. lol.

    • Ha ha I seriously have no ability to control my facial expressions! We’re going on vacation so I’ll be wearing that blouse/skirt a lot in the next couple of weeks!

  2. You look so happy when you are wearing the shirt that you kept! It’s always amazing how when you are wearing the right clothes, you can feel it 🙂

    Thanks for linking up!

  3. That black shirt looks wonderful on you! I will be getting my first fix on the 21st and I’m curious to see what goodies are inside!

  4. bostonbibliophile1 says:

    that peplum blouse looks awesome. i liked the first blouse on you a lot too!